Thanks

Default 2010 strat with a 9V buried under the pickguard

i'm pretty new to guitarland. i do some recording for other folks. i was recently given what i am told is a 2010 fender strat in payment for some work. it's pretty beat up and not well taken care of. the pickguard was missing all but 4 screws. i took to the pick guard off to see if i could clean the contacts and pots up. buried under the pick guard, below the switch, with no other access i found a 9V battery. what is it for? is this really a strat?

everything looks factoryish. the ground to the jack was poorly done and i remade it. the guitar plays without the battery, but there is no access to it without unstringing and removing the pickguard.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Fender Deluxe
    Thanks

That's an active cicuit. EMG pickups, perhaps?
    The Human Torch was denied a bank loan.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to tele savalas For This Useful Post:

tireiron (03-30-2017)

FenderTalker
    Thanks

Yep, that's wiring for an EMG circuit. I know because I use them in my main guitar, a home-brew Warmoth. What do the pickups look like?

5. The Following User Says Thank You to StudioMike For This Useful Post:

tireiron (03-30-2017)

Thanks

Ah Ha! EMG it is! from the covers, they look like single coils. see picture.

NOW! is it kosher to take my handy dandy little router tool and carve an access into the back and then put in a cover plate? it would certainly make access to the 9V easier! oh hell... it's mine now! that would make it even more of a custom. i have new screws and such. i got black ones so they all match and new knobs and a switch cover. i used deox contact cleaner and fader cleaner and i'm thinking the hardware is good but ugly. the contacts are all good. i'm thinking of sanding the body down and repaint. i'm thinking P bass black. i'm kind of thinking the beat up pick guard might buff up ok and give it a some character.