Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Friend of Leo
    Thanks

Default What have I gotten myself into?????

Guys, I'll admit it - I'm not very good with my hands. I can dream up stuff, but I can rarely implement anything - by myself anyway. So when I first re-wired pickups, well, it was functional, but the wiring was a sight to behold - if you like outrageously messy wiring that is just about impossible to follow, solder joints that are textbook "how not to do it" examples....put it this way, you do NOT want me working on your guitars!

So when I emailed Dave Gries - an unbelievably polite gentleman, I should stress - wondering if the tone lift knob that he calls Gain (the one that goes from blackface to tweed) could be made less aggressive, he responded with a couple of caveats that I can live with (mainly, no push-pull bright capability with a 250K pot, which I couldn't care less about). Very shortly thereafter, he sent me a replacement pot (for free, as well as free shipping!), he included directions on how to replace the pot, saying, its very easy - you can do it if you're just a little careful. You know he he wouldn't be saying that if he had seen the insides of my guitars!

So just a little while back, I pulled the chassis, and his directions made perfect sense, and it actually looks like a piece of cake - for somebody who is good! But now, as I look at the unbelievably gorgeous wiring job inside, I am struck with terror. Just three solder joints.....can I do it????

I've set tomorrow (Sunday aside) to do the deed. Why can't I just be satisfied with what I have??????

Well...wish me luck, guys!!

Srini

Fender Lover
    Thanks

I hear you brother....sometimes you just can leave well enough alone for the sake of tone and experimentation. Best of luck,,,,take your time and you'll be fine! Let that iron get hot and don't over-do. You can do it. Need any help just ask. You're one of us and we're here to help!