Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Fishlog's Log

FenderTalker
    Thanks

Default Fishlog's Log

I think I am going to start with this whole diary thinging too. I buy and sell so much stuff it would be nice to be able to keep track of it.

Of course theres only three things that have managed to stay in my collection since I started playing guitar.

A Yamaha Acoustic. My mom bought it for me, I'll keep it for ever. Learned a lot of stuff on that old guitar. Actions about a foot off the board but its still cool. Specially the chip board case which is littered with about a hundred of those stickers you get from radio stations when your leaving a concert.

Second is my main acoustic, a Taylor. Not sure what model number. I don't pick it up to much anymore but its a serious twangy acoustic. I never put it in its case. I'm liking how its aging. Someday when it sounds Crappy enough, I'll Make my way down to the Mississippi Delta and record my back porch blues album.

Last is my Fender 50's Strat. Yes its MIM. Best neck I ever played. I've done some thing to it but thats another days thread.
    Sugar Plum Fairy, Sugar Plum Fairy

FenderTalker
    Thanks

I just Brought my Strat in to have it re-set-up. Last week I decided to have heavier strings put on. Ernie Ball Heavy Bottoms. Big mistake. Not only did I not like it, it changed my sound and caused my wrist problems to act up. I was stupid not to foresee the wrist thing but the sound I had inticapated was no there. I was thinking of more of a tight, chordy sound instead it seemed flat and taught.

It also messed up the guitar pretty well so I needed to have it set-up after I could not do it with the heavier strings. Now its back hopefully getting it to its original form again!

Super Moderator
    'Caster County, Oregon, USA, Earth, Sol, The Milky Way
    Thanks

Whew! Now that was close, don't try that again!
    Some contend that rock 'n roll is bad for the body & bad for the soul